Who We Are

What is the University of Virginia Sustainable Food Collaboartive? 

Formed in 2016 as part of the UVA 2016-2020 Sustainability Plan, the UVA Sustainable Food Collaborative—formerly known as Sustainable Food Strategy Task Force—is a group under UVA Sustainability's Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee that bridges a diverse array of organizations within UVA and the surrounding community to further food sustainability, food justice, and food equity at the University and in Charlottesville.

Who is on the Collaborative?

  • UVA Faculty: 
    • Tanya Denckla Cobb (Institute for Engagement & Negotiation)
    • Paul Freedman (Department of Politics)
  • UVA Offices: 
    • Andrea Trimble, Samantha Kelly, Dana Schroeder, Erika Herz (Office for Sustainability)
    • Melanie Brede (Office of Health Promotion)
    • Wynne Stuart (Office for the Executive Vice President and Provost)
    • Corey DiLuciano (Health System Committee on Sustainability)
    • Darryl Rudge, Caroline Baloga, Sarah Gordon (Aramark - UVA Dine)
    • Kristin Floyd (UVAFinance)
  • UVA Programs and Projects: 
    • Sarah Medley, Barbara Brown Wilson, Ben Allen (UVA Equity Center)
    • Lauren Parker (Virginia Humanities)
    • Rebecca Deeds (Morven Kitchen Garden)
  • Community Organizations: 
    • Emily Turner (4P Foods)
    • Laura Brown (Local Food Hub)
    • Jeanette Abi-Nader (Cultivate Charlottesville)
    • French Price (Virginia Cooperative Extension)
    • Lilia Fuquen (Lilia Fuquen LLC)

UVA Sustainability logo


IEN logo


UVA Health System logo


VCE logo

this logo reads "UVA Dine" in orange and grey letters


Cultivate logo


Morven logo


City Schoolyard Garden logo

UVA politics logo


4p foods logo


Virginia Humanities logo


UVA Equity Center logo